Jevents 2.x (Free Access)

Jevents 1.5 to 2.5 Migration Database Issue

Discuss JEvents 2.x for Joomla 1.5-2.5 here - club members can use the special club forum for faster response times.
Forum rules
When requesting support please follow these steps:

1. Update all JEvents add on's first, via the Joomla! Updater
2. Copy and Paste the JEvents Support Information from the JEvents Control Panel.
3. If you get a 500 error OR white page, enable Maximum Error Reporting in Joomla! Global Config and visit the page again, this should give you a more detailed error and help us provide a prompt response.

Postby nphic » Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:10 pm

We're migrating Jevents from Joomla! 1.5 to 2.5 on a Rackspace server.

Rackspace will not allow me to add the 2.5 database user to the 1.5 database. When I try to add the user the server throws me this message:

"A database user with that name already exists, please choose another database username."

How do I deal with this so I can continue the migration process?

Best regards,

Joe

~~~~~~~~~~~~
Joomla : 2.5.8
component_com_jevents : 2.2.8
module_mod_jevents_cal : 2.2.8
module_mod_jevents_filter : 2.2.0
module_mod_jevents_latest : 2.2.5
module_mod_jevents_legend : 2.2.3
module_mod_jevents_switchview : 1.5.5 b1770
plugin_editors_jce : 2.3.1
plugin_search_eventsearch : 2.2.0 (not enabled)
plugin_system_jcemediabox : 1.1.6 (not enabled)
nphic
Gold Members
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:52 pm

Postby Geraint » Sat Feb 09, 2013 8:39 am

that suggests that the same database user can access both databases - there may not be a reason to create a new user.

Did you try running the migration already?
JEvents Club members can get priority forum support at the Support Forum. As well as access to a variety of custom JEvents addons and benefits. Join the JEvents club today!
User avatar
Geraint
 
Posts: 42850
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 6:14 pm

Postby nphic » Sat Feb 09, 2013 7:08 pm

Yes, and I got an error that said it could not connect to the database.
nphic
Gold Members
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:52 pm

Postby Tonyp » Sat Feb 09, 2013 7:57 pm

You could try using the 1 database with a different database prefix.

Regards
Tony
---------------------------------------
Feel free to PM me if you would like Custom Installs or Joomla! related work for a competitive quote.

User avatar
Tonyp
Team Staff
 
Posts: 23832
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:12 pm
Location: Isle of Man

Postby nphic » Sat Feb 09, 2013 9:02 pm

Are you saying that the database tables are identical and all I have to do is just change the database prefix?

That would be easy, export the 1.5 tables, change the prefix, then import into 2.5.
nphic
Gold Members
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:52 pm

Postby Tonyp » Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:46 pm

Hello.

No. I am saying if you run the migration under the one database you do not need to worry about switching databases for the user etc.

So install the new site under the 1.5 database but with a different prefix of the database so they are both unique.
---------------------------------------
Feel free to PM me if you would like Custom Installs or Joomla! related work for a competitive quote.

User avatar
Tonyp
Team Staff
 
Posts: 23832
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:12 pm
Location: Isle of Man

Postby nphic » Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:35 am

The 1.5 database is a separate database with its own user name and password.

The 2.5 database is its own database with unique username and password.

Don't I have to connect to the 1.5 database with its username and password to export it's tables in order to bring them into the 2.5 database using your migration script?
nphic
Gold Members
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:52 pm

Postby Tonyp » Sun Feb 10, 2013 9:09 am

Hello,

That wouldn't work.

You need to move the 2.5 tables to the 1.5 database, then reset the 2.5 database settings.

Then run the script.

Regards
Tony
---------------------------------------
Feel free to PM me if you would like Custom Installs or Joomla! related work for a competitive quote.

User avatar
Tonyp
Team Staff
 
Posts: 23832
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:12 pm
Location: Isle of Man

Postby nphic » Sun Feb 10, 2013 12:51 pm

I am completely confused now.

If the data that I need resides in the 1.5 database how does putting the 2.5 tables into the 1,5 site help?

And then I still have the problem of moving anything from the 1.5 database to the 2.5 database.

What is the workflow here?
nphic
Gold Members
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:52 pm

Postby Tonyp » Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:18 pm

JEvents migration works on the basis you used the likes of jupgrade to upgrade your install, thus using just 1 database. It uses that database and the different table prefixes to migrate the data.

So if you have both websites running off 1 database which then both sites can access we can migrate the data.

Regards
Tony
---------------------------------------
Feel free to PM me if you would like Custom Installs or Joomla! related work for a competitive quote.

User avatar
Tonyp
Team Staff
 
Posts: 23832
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:12 pm
Location: Isle of Man

Next

Return to Jevents 2.x (Free Access)

  • Who is online
  • View new posts
  • View unanswered posts
  • In total there are 0 users online :: 0 registered and 0 hidden (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
  • Most users ever online was 94 on Tue Sep 01, 2009 12:33 am
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users